NSAIDs and Aspirin Therapy

Whenever I have a headache, I take Ibuprofen.  I also take 800mg of Ibuprofen on the night of my Pegasys injections, to reduce the side effects that I will feel the next day.  All in all, I probably take Ibuprofen at least 3 times a week, in doses of 800mg.

Ibuprofen is an NSAID – Non Steroidal Anti Inflammatory Drug.  Advil is Ibuprofen, as are some forms of Midol (check the packages – some Midol uses Ibuprofen, while some forms use Acetaminophen or Naproxen).

I recently came across this video, made by the Mayo Clinic, discussing the use of NSAIDs with Aspirin Therapy.  While the video talks about taking Aspirin for Heart Disease, they mention that it is Aspirin’s ability to inhibit clotting that can be affected, and that is why ET patients take Aspirin.  I do plan to discuss this with my local Hematologist, as well as my Mayo Hematologist when I see him next week.  But in the meantime, I am trying to switch over to Acetaminophen (Tylenol).

I’m curious if any one else has had their Hematologist warn them about using Ibuprofen with Aspirin?  I don’t remember mine saying anything, but it is possible that with all the things we talk about that I just don’t remember.

~ by julie70 on June 23, 2011.

9 Responses to “NSAIDs and Aspirin Therapy”

  1. My doctor told me I cannot take any Ibuprofen because I take a daily dose of baby aspirin. They both irrate your stomach taken together. Also, if you take both they are going to counter act each other. Although, I have heard that it’s in general not a problem to take some Ibuprofen if you’re only taking a BABY aspirin everyday. I would ask your doctor about it though. I hope other than this you are feeling well in general. Thanks for always sharing your info.

    • Hi Shayna,
      You bring up an interesting point. I asked my Hematologist about this, and he said that it was okay to take NSAIDs on occasion, just not regularly. But, I was on low-dose aspirin at the time. He has since increased my dose to a full aspirin, daily. I will ask him again, next time I see him, if I should be more careful now that I am taking a higher dose of aspirin. Thanks 🙂

  2. Hi Dear…

    If you feel very sick headache, should be enjoyed just the pain.
    And you’ll thanks god because you are still alive.

    Believe me, I have over 7 years with CML and no paint killer i drink until now.

    God bless you.

    • Hi 🙂
      I do try to not take NSAIDs as much now as I used to. This information has made me think a lot harder about whether I really need them or not.
      Thank you for your post! I look forward to reading your blog 🙂

  3. I was told not to take anything but PARACETAMOL which is the same as Tylenol. I love you blog! please keep it up!! also, there are lots of us on FACEBOOK ESSENTIAL THROMBOCYTHEMIA .. please hook up! your input would be wonderful!

    • LOL Mercy, I’m already there :). You’re right, it’s a great group of people. I did ask my hematologist about NSAIDS and Aspirin, and he said on occasion it’s okay to take them. Just not on a regular basis. So I still do take Naproxen from time to time, when my headaches are bad (or sometimes to prevent a headache the morning after my Pegasys dose). I’m just careful to ask myself first if I can do without it.

  4. I just found your site today and I am so happy I did! I was diagnosed with ET in August and take 1500mg of Hydrea per day. My counts have not yet hit a normal range, (still around 600,000), but not bad considering they were 1.5 million. This was found when I had switched primary care doctors and my new one just decided it was a good idea to do a cbc since it had been years since I had this done. Good thing. Well a lot has happened since then that are similar to your experiences but the one that got my attention the most was when you said you ended up in the ER with heart attack symptoms. I too have been having these episodes and went to my primary care doctor who ordered a whole bunch of different tests. Chest xray, ultra sound, echocardiagram, and stress test. I have a strong family history of heart disease but never had symptoms myself until now. I even had a heart cath done last week. Every thing came back good. I did find out that I have an enlarged left atrial and ventricle and mild valve regurgitation. I had my first appointment withe the cardiologist today and he told me my chances of heart attack due to heart disease are very low. I do have this other problem but that is something he wants to address with diet and exercise. BTW, i gained 17 pounds since starting Hydrea 😦 But, the problem is that when I tell him that I still have these symptoms, heaviness in my chest, palpitations, light headed, tingling in my arms and legs and sever fatigue in my legs he says “it’s not your heart”. So now that I have read your blog I know that at my next Hemotologists appointment we are going to talk about symptoms. This was never addressed as much as the treatment. I actually walked out of there thinking that this was really no big deal. I thank you again for opening my eyes and my mind to this disease and not just letting my doctor take care of this for me.

    • Hi, Laurie 🙂
      I’m glad you have a doctor now who seems to be on top of things and follows through. Yes, it’s very important that we talk to our Hematologist about things like symptoms and episodes, not just let them talk to us. It took me a while to learn that, too. Great job in bringing your platelet counts down, and I hope they continue to get lower!

Leave a Reply

 
