Goodbyes

This week saw two ‘Goodbyes’ that had, or will have, a pretty big effect on me.

First, my Platelet count was 160 and my Mayo Clinic doctor decided it is time to say Goodbye, completely, to Hydroxyurea!  That’s right, no more HU!  Starting today, the only chemo therapy I am on is Pegasys.  Needless to say, I am excited about progressing along, and eager to see how my counts and symptoms do on just the Pegasys.

I also had to say Goodbye this week to my faithful companion and four-legged best friend, Ginger.  She has been fighting a Cancer battle since last June, and last weekend the battle turned against her.  She was my shadow, and we relied on each other for comfort and security.  We often comforted each other on our rough days.  Almost 12 years ago, I caught her as she came into this world, and last Saturday I held her tight as she left it.

I know Ginger’s passing doesn’t have anything to do with Essential Thrombocythemia, but I mention it for two reasons.  First, because she deserves mentioning, often and with all my love.  But I also mention it because this week I learned just how physically draining emotional fatigue can be.  It reminded me how important it is, while we deal with the effects of this disease, to surround ourselves with things that make us happy.  People that lift our spirits and make us smile.  Fatigue is already such struggle for many of us, and if we are tired, emotionally, it will make it even more of a struggle.

Often easier said than done, but well worth it when we can pull it off.

*sigh*

~ by julie70 on March 17, 2011.

4 Responses to “Goodbyes”

  1. Hey Julie,
    Great to hear that you’re off HU now. I’m not a fan of HU myself too. I hope that Pegasys will bring you good and constant positive results. I’m sorry to hear about your loss. You’ll have my support in fighting through this ET.

    Take care.
    Bryan

    • Thanks, Bryan! It’s been good to hear about your counts behaving and your successful move off of the HU 🙂 Hope your good health continues!!!

  2. I am so sorry to read about Ginger. My dog, Winston, also died of Cancer about 7 years ago and I still think about him everyday.

    I am glad that you’re off the HU and I look forward to reading about your experience with Pegasys.

    Thanks for sharing your information, it really helps.

    – Shayna

  3. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with ET and the switch from HU to Pegasys. I am exploring this myself.

Leave a Reply

 
