Making Some Adjustments

Today, I had my weekly blood draw.  As usual, the lab at the local Cancer Center faxed the results to the Mayo Clinic, where they were reviewed.  Then, the nurse calls me and lets me know if I need to make any medication changes.  We’ve been doing it this way since I went to the Mayo Clinic in December, and we decided to start me on Pegasys.  I’ve stayed on my usual dose of the Hydroxyurea (actually, just a tad bit higher of a dose), and we’ve added the half dose of Pegasys.  The plan was to let my body adjust to the lower dose of Pegasys, then gradually wean me off of the HU, and onto the full dose of Pegasys.

Well, today we took the next step.  I got my call from Mayo, and was told that my platelet count is 138!  It hasn’t been anywhere near that low since I became aware of my platelet count!  In fact, the nurse said, “your count is good.  Really good.  In fact, it’s almost LOW now.”  You can see how my platelet counts – and the rest of my blood work – has been fluctuating, and reacting to medication dosage changes, in my Pages, under the Blood Work tabs, in the side bar of the blog.

So what is the next step?  Starting tonight, I will reduce the HU dose to 500 mg/day.  That’s one capsule.  I was taking 2 capsules (1000 mg) per day, plus a third capsule (for a total of 1500 mg) every Monday.  In addition, I’ll increase the Pegasys injection from 45 ml to 90 ml, which will be a typically full dose.

I’m excited to be progressing in my treatment, but I’ll be honest, I’m a little anxious, too.  I asked the nurse if I should expect the side-effects to increase with the dosage, and she told me No.  I think I’ll take that giant Ibuprofen tonight, anyway, just to be safe ;).

~ by julie70 on February 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
